What is Broken Crayons?

Broken Crayons is one of my favorite concepts. Years ago my youth leader preached a sermon and the title was “Broken Crayons Still Color”. If I am not mistaken, I was either still in high school or in my first year of college when he delivered that message and it has stuck to me ever since. Imagine a fresh box of Crayola crayons given to a six year old that loves coloring. After about a month or so, you will look at those same crayons and some of them may be dull, others broken into two or more pieces, and some that have been colored all the way down to a nub. Usually, most people would throw those crayons away, but there is a program called Crazy Crayons that create hand crafted crayons, both multi-color and solid color made completely out of recycled crayons.

Those broken, dull, and ran down crayons are able to be re-purposed into brand new and unique crayons. That is the underlying message of this concept. In my short, almost 22 years of life, I have gone through things that I thought were going to be the end of me. However, every single time, I proved myself wrong. I took all of the hurt, heartbreak, pain, and trauma, and turned it into something beautiful, something I was proud of. I finally became comfortable with my scars, I became comortable with showing them and letting the world see the real me flaws and all. This series is my broken crayons story. I feel like me sharing my my “broken crayons” testimony will others to feel comfortable addressing their broken crayon story and truly seeing where they came from and where they can go with it. I can honestly say, I would not be who I am today without being a broken crayon at some point.

I hope this series is as therapeutic to you, the reader, as it will be for me, the writer.

Enjoy! and remember, “The LORD is near to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit” Psalm 34:18.

Leave a Reply

