Moving Forward

DON’T LET WHO YOU ARE TODAY RUIN WHO YOU COULD BE TOMORROW! I remember talking to my dad one night after I had gotten passed over for a writing opportunity I really wanted. He said to me, ” you can’t be stuck on what happened today because it will put what tomorrow had in store for you on hold”. He also told me that I shouldn’t be too hurt over not getting this opportunity because it just wasn’t for me, something better was around the corner. I’m not going to lie to you guys and say that I was not hurt in that situation because to be honest I was hurt. I felt like me not getting that position meant that I was not good enough, I wasn’t talented enough, and that I should give up on trying to use my writing as a career for me, but dad was right. That position was not for Kemi, and something better was right around the corner. I just needed to keep the mentality that something better was out there for me. The goal in life is to continue to move forward and never backward if you can help it. At times, especially as a young adult, we tend to get caught up in society’s timelines and expectations for our lives. We feel like we are a disappointment and failure when we don’t do things the way that they are “supposed” to be but if I have learned nothing else in my adulthood years I have learned that life is not a race, it’s a journey. There will be times when you trip and fall, that you get weak and tired, that you decide it’s not worth all of the frustration to keep going, but as long as you push past all of those things and keep going down the path everything will work out. I am still having to learn this concept and stick to it because trust me, there have been many days that I have cried my eyes out wondering if all of the stress was truly worth it, but everyday when I wake up, I look at myself in the mirror and I read one of the few mantras that I have written on my mirror and remember, everyday is a challenge, and I thank God that today I had the opportunity to accept it.

Leave a Reply

